Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Contact the Debate Commission, tell them to include Jill Stein

 Commission on Presidential Debates

by Don Ellis

The Presidential debates are now less than a week away, and so far the Commission on Presidential Debates has continued to insist that neither Green Party candidate Dr. Jill Stein nor Libertarian Party candidate Gary Johnson will be allowed to join the one-party oligarchy candidates on the debate stage.

While we certainly should protest by not watching the debates in their current exclusionary format, it is not too late to contact the members of the debate board and insist that they include all candidates who are on the ballot in enough states to win the Presidential election.

GreenPartyRadio.com urges everyone to contact all of the members and tell them how you feel. Contact them personally, contact their employers, post to their social media accounts, do whatever it takes to convince them that the Presidential debates should include all candidates.

Commission on Presidential Debates Board of Directors


Frank J. Fahrenkopf, Jr., Former Chairman of the Republican National Committee

Board member of various Gabelli financial companies (Rye, NY): @MarioGabelli or Contact Us/Locations.
Board member of First Republic Bank (San Francisco, CA): @firstrepublic, Contact Us, or Locations.
Board member of El Dorado Resorts (Reno, NV): Contact Us/Locations.

Michael D. McCurry, Former Press Secretary for Bill Clinton

Council at Public Strategies Washington (Washington, DC): 214-363-3990 or info@pstrategies.com.
Professor at Wesley Theological Seminary (Washington, DC): @WesleyTheoSem or Contact Us/Location.
He will teach a class this fall that gives his students the option to attend the 2nd Presidential debate in Saint Louis.
Private Twitter account: @mmccurry.


Jimmy Carter, Former Democratic President

Founder of The Carter Center: Contact us.
President Carter responds to letters: The Carter Center, 453 Freedom Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30307.


Howard G. Buffett, Chairman/CEO, Howard G. Buffett Foundation

CEO of Howard G. Buffett Foundation (Decatur, IL): 217-423-9286 or Contact Us.
Howard W. Buffett, his son: @hbuffett on Twitter.

John C. Danforth, Former Republican U.S. Senator

Partner at Dowd Bennet law firm (St. Louis): jdanforth@downbennett.com, 314-889-7342 (his line), or Contact Us.
Part-owner of the St. Louis Blues NHL team: @StLouisBlues or Contact Us.
John Danforth Center @ Washington University (St. Louis): @CtrRelPol or Contact Us.
Danforth Center is hosting "Danforth Dialogues" the day before the 2nd debate at Washington University.

Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr., Former Republican Governor

President of Purdue University (West Lafayette, IN): @purduemitch, president@purdue.edu, or Contact Us/Location.
Board of Cerner Corporation (Kansas City, MO): @cerner or Contact Us/Locations.
Board of Interactive Intelligence (Indianapolis): @IN_Intelligence or Contact Us/Locations.

Charles Gibson, Former Host of Good Morning America; Former ABC News Anchor

Board of Kaiser Family Foundation (Menlo Park, CA): @KaiserFamFound or Contact Us.
(The Kaiser Family Foundation has previously been a sponsor of the debates.)
Former Host of Good Morning America: @GMA.

John Griffen, Managing Director of Allen & Company LLC

Director of Allen & Company LLC (Lakeland, FL): @allenandcompany or Contact Us/Locations.
Advisor at Business Talent Group: @theBTG or Contact Us/Locations.

Jane Harman, Former Democratic Congresswoman

President/CEO, Woodrow Wilson Center for Scholars (Washington, DC): @TheWilsonCenter, 202-691-4202, Contact Us/Location.
Board of Trustees at University of Southern California (Los Angeles): @USC or Contact Us/Location.
Board of Iridium Communications (McLean, VA): @IridiumComm or Contact Us/Locations.
Board of Newsweek/Daily Beast (NYC): @thedailybeast, @johnavlon, @newsweek, & @jimpoco.

Antonia Hernandez, President/CEO, California Community Foundation

President/CEO of CCF (Los Angeles): ahernandez@calfund.org, 213-383-2046 ext 236, or @calfund.
Board of Council on Foundations (Arlington, VA): @COF_ or Contact Us/Location.
Board of Center on Budget & Policy Priorities (Washington, DC): @CenterOnBudget or Contact Us/Location.
Advisory Board of UCLA School of Law (Los Angeles, CA): @UCLA_Law, @UCLALaw_Alumni, or Contact Us/Location.

Reverend John I. Jenkins, President of University of Notre Dame

President of Notre Dame University (Notre Dame, IN): @NotreDame, 574-631-3903, president@nd.edu, or Contact Us/Location.
Member of American Academy of Arts & Sciences's Commission on the Humanities & Social Sciences: @americanacad.

Jim Lehrer, Former PBS News Anchor

Former Anchor of PBS NewsHour: @NewsHour or Contact Your Local PBS Station.
Governing Council of UVA's Miller Center (Charlottesville, VA): @Miller_Center, Contact Us/Location, @terrysulli, Contact UVA President.

Newton N. Minow, Former Democratic Chair of the Federal Communications Commission

Senior Counsel at Sidley Austin LLP (Chicago): @SidleyLaw, nminow@sidley.com, 312-853-7555, or Locations/Contact Us.
Board of Trustees at Northwestern University (Evanston, IL): @NorthwesternU or Contact Us/Location.
Board of Trustees at Notre Dame University: @NotreDame, 574-631-3903, president@nd.edu, or Contact Us/Location.

Richard D. Parsons, Former Chairman of Citigroup; Former Chairman & CEO of TimeWarner

Senior Advisor at Providence Equity Partners LLC (Providence, RI): Contact Us/Locations.
Board of Teach for America: @TeachForAmerica or @VillanuevaBeard.
Board of Estée Lauder (NYC): @EsteeLauder or Contact Us/Locations.
Director at Lazard: @LazardLtd, Contact Us, or Locations.

Dorothy S. Ridings, Former President of the League of Women Voters

Former President of the League of Women Voters (Washington, DC): @LWV, Contact Us, or Find a Local League.
(Contact your local chapter of the League of Women Voters and encourage them to sponsor an Open Debate!)
Board of Community Foundation of Louisville (Louisville, KY): @CFLouisville or Contact Us/Locations.

Olympia Snowe, Former Republican U.S. Senator

Board of T Rowe Price (Baltimore): @TRowePrice or Contact Us/Locations.
Board of Aetna (Hartford, CT): @Aetna, @mtbert, or Locations.
Board of National Institute for Civil Discourse, Univ. of AZ (Tucson, AZ): @NICDInstitute, Contact/Location, @UofA, Contact UA President.

Shirley M. Tilghman, Former President of Princeton University

Professor at Princeton University (Princeton, NJ): smt@princeton.edu, 609-258-2900, Contact Princeton U's President.
Trustee of Amherst College (Amherst, MA): @AmherstCollege, @Biddy_Martin, Contact Amherst's President.
Board of Google (Menlo Park, CA): @sundarpichai, Contact/Locations.


Janet H. Brown, Former Republican White House Staffer & Congressional Staffer (for CPD Member John C. Danforth)

Executive Director of Commission on Presidential Debates (Washington, DC): jb@debates.org
Commission on Presidential Debates, 1200 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036